ADA Hotline:

Voice: 1-800-514-0301

TTY: 1-800-514-0383

EyeSign benefits:

  • 24/7/365 direct scheduling on-line
  • Quickly identify local interpreters by Zip code/Specialty search (upper RH corner)
  • Preferred Interpreter search by 4-digit EyeSign number
  • Hiring entities can easily submit requests to qualified interpreters
  • Prompt (within 24 hrs) response time to your requests
  • Eliminate interpreter agency delays, limited business hours, and overhead costs by hiring direct
  • Guaranteed confidential communication with 128-bit SSL government standard encryption

Why EyeSign?

  • Improve services in urban and rural areas (150-200 mile search radius)
  • Promote professionalism
  • Reduce overhead costs




Use the Search function to locate qualified,

credentialed interpreters near you! 


1. Enter your

Zip Code


2. Preferred Interpreter's

Profile Number



3.  Specialty certification 


What do all these certifications mean?

For a full listing see the RID website:


The various certifications fall into one of 4 basic categories:


1.  Hearing interpreters who work between the two languages of ASL (American Sign Language) and English.

(Possible certifications: CI, MCSC, CSC,  NAD III, IV, V, NIC, NIC A, NIC M)


2.  Hearing interpreters who work between spoken English and a version of signed English.

(Possible certifications: CT or those listed above for #1)


3.  Hearing interpreters who convey spoken English using gestures and visual cues to a non-signer who predominately lipreads, and vice versa.

(Possible certifications: OTC, OIC-C)


4. A Certified Deaf Interpreter who works in collaboration with a Certified Hearing interpreter to interpret messages between a person who uses sign language and a non-signer. A CDI may be the most appropriate language match for the client and is recommended for legal, mental health, multi-cultural/multi-lingual settings and when working with children/youth.

(Possible certifications: CDI, RSC, CDI-P or non-certified QDI)


DeafBlind clients may prefer tactile interpreting or use existing vision for close-proximity standard interpreting.

(There is no additional certification for DeafBlind interpreting)


EIPA (Educational Interpreter Performance Assessment) rates the skills of an interpreter in educational K-12 settings. Scores of 4.0 or higher are accepted by RID as equivalent to national certification.


Legal Interpreting requires additional training and advanced skills.  Most courts require a court certified interpreter.

(RID Certification: SC:L = Specialist Certificate: Legal, CLIP-R)


Does the ADA require use of a certified interpreter?

The term used in the ADA is "qualified".  The goal is effective, accurate and impartial two-way, participatory communication.


To be qualified, an interpreter must be able to interpret effectively, accurately, and impartially both receptively and expressively, using any necessary specialized vocabulary.


 Justice Department

28 C.F.R. § 35.104

NAD-RID Code of Professional Conduct
  • Confidential communication
  • Professional skills and knowledge
  • Appropriate conduct
  • Respect for consumers
  • Respect for colleagues, interns, students
  • Ethical business practices
  • Ongoing professional development